Author Wim Bijnens

Wim Bijnens

The Cronos Group - The CoFoundry Supporting platform for entrepreneurs

In recent weeks, I have used several emails to share a blog post with you following the COVID quarantine. This was partly due to my passion and will to explain things. This same passion led me into the technology sector 22 years ago, just after I completed my doctoral research, when the world was in full .com mode. And I have now been fortunate enough to call myself your Cronos colleague for 5 years.

For me, Cronos is an environment in which I can work on a self-exploratory basis, with my passion for entrepreneurship. I often take on the role of deal maker and facilitate colleagues in taking the next step. We then look together at what we can achieve within our network. Letting people discover the right path for themselves, or creating that path myself, is sometimes a difficult balance, but I get a lot of satisfaction from it.

Based on that experience and passion, I have decided to set up a blog in these surreal times. It is a personal experiment because I have noticed how difficult it is to do business from home with others while in mild quarantine, to be self-exploring, and still find the balance between working from home and home education. It is a professional experiment because it is difficult to close deals and facilitate people from my living room. It is a joint experiment because we are all in the same challenging situation, and we are all looking for solutions and explanations to get through this together.

Using my blog, I hope to contribute to more insights and explanations of the actions and events inside and outside De Cronos Groep during this crisis. Hopefully my reflections can inspire you to sustainable progress, or stimulate you to look at things differently. After all, are we now not obliged to look at the world differently thanks to the COVID-19 crisis?

After this crisis, when nothing will have to be the same as before, I would like to continue working with those who want to. This will help us contribute to an inclusive society, a society in which we human beings are central. A society in which there is room for everyone, a society in which everyone can be themselves, and to which everyone can make their own contribution. We can do business together and use the available resources that feel good to us. Our final goal: to lead a meaningful existence by bringing out the best in ourselves and making sustainable social progress together.

But that is for later, I first need to set myself the goal of writing a post once every week, in order to detail my experience of the insights and explanations of the actions and events inside and outside De Cronos Groep.

I am absolutely open to feedback, and can be reached via wim.bijnens@cronos.be.

I hope this helps us achieve sustainable progress together. Enjoy the read!

Kind regards

Wim

Part VIII: The new normal: a culture of consideration and listening

It’s been a while since I made a contribution to the “Inclusive Society”. I was not aware the weeks had passed so quickly. Suddenly Mother’s Day, and even Father’s Day, had passed, and it’s already nearly time to go on our summer holiday. Working from home is still the norm at the moment, and may remain so forever. But people are social beings aren’t they? Can we handle that? How…

Part VII: Has Mother’s Day thrown a spanner in the works for the slow reopening of our society?

COVID-19 requires a change in behaviour, and we are doing our best, but common sense is simply not enough. In co-creation with www.monkeyshot.be – Jimmy Tieu, Michiel Meekels, Benjamin Sipahi & Anne Smits Last weekend, we celebrated Mother’s Day, and it highlighted our yearning for social contact. As the corona curve flattens, and even falls sharply, the National Security Council has given the green light to merge two bubbles into…

Part VI: The Corona Entropy

“The entropy of the world strives towards a maximum.” – this is an expression I have always remembered from thermodynamics lessons. We fight against this law all our lives. We clean our desk today, but it will be a mess again tomorrow. It is the same with our living space, kitchen, garden, and even our body and mind. It is no different during the lockdown – we live, work, learn…

Part V: Amor Mundi

Last weekend, I read the Inge Vervotte’s Easter message with great interest. Her appeal to once again make “Love and responsibility for the world” – Amor Mundi – the norm touched me. If necessary, she wants civil resistance to get things done in these exceptional circumstances. Her ambition and commitment sound like heaven to my ears. Still, I feel a little uncomfortable hearing this from the mouth of a former…

Part IV: Can we uninstall and reinstall 2020? This version has a virus.

About four weeks ago, we were put in lockdown. Four weeks of social distancing, washing our hands, and staying indoors. It has not been easy, but green shoots are starting to appear. The hospitals are still working, and there are intensive care places available. The spread of coronavirus is slowing down, and the curve appears to be flattening. At the same time, we are gradually finding our own pace of life: we…

Part III: The show must go on

We are in a mild lockdown, and it is the beginning of the third week, unknown territory to me, because it has never happened before. We have heard the Olympics are being postponed. And despite the fact that this was not decided in the context of war, the news was met with little fanfare, as if it were not really news at all. Our group is also asking for more…

Part II: Working from home and home life

What a week! What a difference we have seen – there were no restrictions last week and we were allowed to move freely, but this week has been very different. 13 March 2020 may soon be remembered in the same way as the attacks on 22 March 2016 – a day that no one will forget. A lot changed very quickly. We have to fully adapt to the measures imposed…

Part I: Take care of yourself and the others

In recent days, we have communicated a lot about how to protect ourselves against the current recession. Ensuring our own business continuity, as well as that of our customers, in difficult times is going to be a focus for the following weeks and months. We are already grateful to everyone for their flexibility and “can do” mentality of the past few days. But let’s also talk about the other side.…

Auteur Wim Bijnens

Wim Bijnens

Le Groupe Cronos - The CoFoundry Plate-forme de soutien aux entrepreneurs

Dans le cadre de la quarantaine du COVID-19, j'ai partagé avec vous au cours des dernières semaines des articles de blog par le biais de plusieurs e-mails, animé entre autres de mon éternelle passion et de mon besoin de clarifier les choses. Il y a 22 ans, cette passion m'a projeté dans le secteur technologique, juste après l'obtention de mon doctorat et en pleine émergence des entreprises Internet, et me voilà maintenant et depuis 5 ans votre fier collègue Cronos.

Cronos représente pour moi un environnement propice à l'expérimentation personnelle dans mon travail, soutenue par ma passion pour l'entrepreneuriat. J'endosse souvent le rôle d'homme d'affaire et guide mes collègues sur la marche à suivre. Nous évaluons alors ensemble ce que nous pouvons mettre en œuvre au sein de notre réseau. Laisser les autres découvrir quelle est la bonne voie ou créer cette voie moi-même est un équilibre parfois délicat, mais dont je retire une satisfaction considérable.

Cette expérience et cette passion m'ont poussé, en ces temps surréalistes, à mettre un blog sur pied. L'expérience est personnelle, car je remarque à quel point il peut être compliqué d'entreprendre avec les autres de chez soi dans un contexte de confinement modéré, de se soumettre à l'expérimentation personnelle et de tout de même trouver l'équilibre entre travail et enseignement à domicile. Elle est professionnelle également, car il est difficile de conclure des affaires et de guider les autres à distance, depuis mon salon. Elle est commune, car nous sommes tous dans le même bateau, à la recherche de solutions et d'explications pour en sortir ensemble.

Grâce à ce blog, j'espère contribuer en ces temps de crise à une plus grande transparence des informations et des déclarations qui circulent au sujet des actions et des événements à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Cronos Groep. J'ai l'espoir que mes réflexions vous inspireront un progrès durable, et vous attireront hors des sentiers battus. Car n'avons-nous pas l'obligation morale d'appréhender le monde autrement après la crise du COVID-19?

Une fois cette crise terminée, lorsque tout pourra changer, je compte continuer à entreprendre avec ceux qui le désirent. Ainsi, chacun pourra apporter sa pierre à une société inclusive, une société centrée sur l'humain. Une société où chacun a sa place, où chacun peut être lui-même et apporter sa contribution. Nous entreprendrons ensemble en nous servant des moyens disponibles et qui nous semblent appropriés. Notre objectif ultime : mener une existence sensée en étant la meilleure version de nous-mêmes, et réaliser ensemble le rêve d'un progrès social durable.

Mais tout cela est pour plus tard, je me pose d'abord pour mission de rédiger un article par semaine, de me charger, au travers de mon expérience, de clarifier les informations et les déclarations qui circulent au sujet des actions et des événements à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Cronos Groep.

Je suis ouvert à vos retours, et joignable via wim.bijnens@cronos.be.

Peut-être atteindrons-nous ainsi un progrès durable, c'est du moins ce que j'espère.

Bonne lecture!

Amicalement, Wim

Partie VI: L’entropie corona

« L’entropie de l’univers tend vers un maximum » est une citation tirée de mes cours de thermodynamique qui m’a toujours marquée. Notre vie à tous est animée du besoin de contrer cette loi physique. Si nous rangeons notre bureau, dès le lendemain, le revoilà déjà couvert d’un peu de désordre. Le principe est le même pour notre salon, notre cuisine, notre jardin, et même notre corps et notre esprit. Ce confinement…

Partie V: Amor Mundi

J’ai lu avec grand intérêt le message pascal d’Inge Vervotte le week-end dernier. Son appel à refaire de « l’amour et la responsabilité envers le monde »- Amor Mundi – une norme primaire m’a parlé. Si nécessaire, Inge Vervotte aspire à une résistance civile pour faire changer les choses en ces circonstances exceptionnelles. Son ambition et son engagement attisent ma sympathie. Cependant, entendre ce genre de discours de la bouche d’une ancienne…

Partie IV: On ne pourrait pas désinstaller 2020 et la réinstaller ? Cette version a un virus !

Le confinement est de rigueur depuis un petit mois maintenant. Quatre semaines de social distancing passées à se laver les mains, enfermés chez nous. Pas évident, mais pas sans espoir non plus. Les hôpitaux tiennent le coup, et les soins intensifs ne sont pas saturés. La propagation du coronavirus ralentit, et la courbe semble s’aplatir. Et nous, pendant ce temps, nous retombons doucement sur nos pattes : nous apprenons à nous réunir selon…

Partie III : The show must go on

À l’aube de cette troisième semaine de confinement modéré, me voilà en terre inconnue, car cette situation est bel et bien parfaitement inédite. Entre-temps, il a été annoncé que les Jeux olympiques avaient été reportés. Et dès lors que la raison n’en est pas un contexte de guerre, cette décision est passée comme une lettre à la poste, comme s’il s’agissait de reporter un barbecue entre amis. Aussi au sein…

Partie II : Vivre et travailler à la maison

Quelle semaine ! Tandis que la semaine dernière, tout était encore permis et nous étions libres de nos mouvements, cette semaine, en revanche, fut bien différente. Le 13 mars 2020 sera sans doute, à l’instar du 22 mars 2016 et de ses attentats, un jour que personne n’est prêt d’oublier. Soudain, tout a changé. Soudain, il nous a fallu nous adapter aux mesures qui nous ont été imposées afin d’aplatir…

Partie I : Prenez soin de vous et des autres

Ces derniers jours ont été peuplés d’échanges sur la meilleure manière de nous armer contre l’actuelle récession. Assurer la continuité de notre business et de celui de nos clients en ces heures difficiles est la priorité des semaines et des mois à venir. Avant toute chose, nous vous sommes extrêmement reconnaissants de la flexibilité et de l’esprit d’initiative dont vous faites preuve depuis le premier jour. Mais évoquons un instant…